John von Neumann Visiting Professorship

John von Neumann Gastprofessoren

Outstanding scientists as guests of the Department of Mathematics

John von Neumann
John von Neumann at Los Alamos National Lab

The John von Neumann Visiting Professorship allows outstanding scientists to spend a semester at the TUM Department of Mathematics. It is funded by the Bavarian Ministry of Science, Research and Art. Awardees offer a John von Neumann guest lecture series, introducing advanced undergraduates to their area of research.

John von Neumann - the namesake

The visiting professorship is named in honour of John von Neumann, one of the world's leading 20th century mathematicians. With his mathematical ideas, von Neumann made seminal contributions to many different fields including quantum mechanics, game theory, fluid dynamics, and scientific computing. In particular, with his celebrated 1932 textbook he put the then new science of quantum mechanics on firm mathematical ground, and with his 1952 design of the computer MANIAC he introduced the pioneering ideas of flexible memory and parallel processing. In 1953 the Technische Hochschule München awarded him an honorary doctorate.

Current Awardees in the Summer Semester 2021

Due to the Corona pandemic these guests have to postpone their visit and will visit our Department at a later time. Additionally an online lecture is offered:


Prof. Dr. Massimo Fornasier
Prof. Dr. Massimo Fornasier

Boltzmannstr. 3
85747 Garching
Room: MI 02.10.058

massimo.fornasier (at)
+48 (0)89 289 17485

Lydia Weber
Lydia Weber, MBA

Boltzmannstr. 3
85747 Garching
Room: MI 00.10.044

dekanat (at)
+48 (0)89 289 17583

Previous Awardees

  • Prof. Dr. Clotilde Fermanian Kammerer, Université Paris Est
  • Prof. Dr. Alejandro F. Ramirez, University of Chile, Santiago
  • Prof. Dr. Bruno Després, Université de Paris
  • Prof. Dr. Lorenzo Pareschi, Ferrara University
  • Prof. Dr. Grigorios A. Pavliotis, Imperial College London
  • Prof. Dr. Jean-David Fermanian, Université de Paris-Saclay

  • Prof. Dr. Carol Alexander, University of Sussex
  • Prof. Dr. Guillaume Carlier, University of Paris
  • Prof. Dr. Marius Junge, University of Illinois
  • Prof. Dr. Daniel Kressner, EPFL
  • Prof. Dr. Filippo Santambrogio, University of Paris

  • Prof. Dr. Sergey Tikhomirov, Universität Sankt Petersburg
  • Prof. Dr. V. Dolgachev, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • Prof. Dr. Nicola Fusco, Universität Neapel
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Griebel, Universität Bonn
  • Prof. Dr. Frithjof Lutscher, Universität Ottawa

  • Prof. Dr. Francis Filbet, Universität Lyon
  • Prof. Dr. Helmut Pottmann, TU Wien
  • Prof. Dr. Maurice Rojas, Texas A&M University
  • Prof. Dr. Bruno Nachtergaele, University of California, Davis
  • Prof. Dr. Gary Froyland, University of New South Wales
  • Prof. Dr. Johanna G Neslehova, McGill University, Montreal
  • Prof. Dr. Christian Genest, McGill University, Montreal

  • Prof. Dr. Peter Markowich, University of Cambridge
  • Prof. Dr. Andrea Braides, Universita die Roma Tor Vergata
  • Prof. Dr. Ernst Eberlein, Universität Freiburg
  • Prof. Dr. Matteo Novaga, Universita di Pisa
  • Prof. Dr. Guiseppe Savaré, Universita di Pavia

  • Prof. Dr. Götz Pfander, Jacobs Universität Bremen
  • Prof. Dr. Mauro Maggioni, Duke University
  • Prof. Dr. David Perez-Garcia, Universität Madrid
  • Prof. Dr. Dimitris N. Politis, University of California, San Diego

  • Prof. Dr. Ansgar Jüngel, TU Wien
  • Prof. Dr. Sergii Koliada, Academy of Sciences, Kiev
  • Prof. Dr. Serguei Popov, University of Campinas, Brasilien
  • Prof. Dr. Jesus De Loera, University of California, USA
  • Prof. Dr. Wim Schoutens, Universität Leuven, Belgien
  • Prof. Dr. Marc Noy, Universität Barcelona
  • Prof. Dr. Marina Vachkovskaia, University of Campinas, Brasilien
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Song, University of Michigan, USA

  • Prof. Dr. Zalman Balanov, University of Texas
  • Prof. Dr. Wieslaw Krawcewicz, University of Texas, Dallas
  • Prof. Dr. Sanjoy Mitter, MIT
  • Prof. Dr. Reinhold Schneider, TU Berlin

  • Prof. Dr. Harry Joe, University of British Columbia
  • Prof. Dr. H. N. Mhaskar, California State University


  • Prof. Dr. Michael Dellnitz, Universität Paderborn
  • Prof. Dr. Pavel Krejci, Akademie der Wissenschaften, Prag
  • Prof. Dr. Nick Trefethen, Oxford University, UK


  • Prof. Michael Aizenman, Princeton University, USA     
  • Prof. Dr. K. P. Hadeler, Universität Tübingen
  • Prof. Dr. Hans Föllmer, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. E. Hairer, Université de Genève, Schweiz


  • Prof. Dr. Vladimir L. Popov, Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Prof. Dr. A. M. Meirmanov, State University of Belgorod, Russland
  • Prof. Dr. Vladas Sidoravicius, Amsterdam
  • Prof. Dr. M.E.H. Ismail, University of Central Florida, Orlando, USA


  • Prof. Dr. Carsten Carstensen, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Sidney Resnick, Cornell University, USA


  • Prof. Dr. Richard D. James, University of Minnesota, USA     
  • Prof. Dr. Werner C. Rheinboldt, University of Pittsburgh, USA


  • Prof. Dr. Michael Loss, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA


  • Prof. Dr. Bernd Sturmfels, University of California, Berkeley, USA


  • Prof. Dr. Rosemary Renaut, Arizona State University, USA     
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Brockwell, Colorado State Universität, USA