John von Neumann Visiting Professorship

John von Neumann
The John von Neumann Visiting Professorship allows outstanding scientists to spend a semester at the TUM Center for Mathematics. It is funded by the Bavarian ministry of Science, Research and Art. Awardees offer a 'John von Neumann Gastvorlesung' which introduces advanced undergraduates to their area of research.

The Visiting Professorship is named in honour of John von Neumann, one of the world's leading 20th century mathematicians. With his mathematical ideas, von Neumann made seminal contributions to many different fields including quantum mechanics, game theory, fluid dynamics, and scientific computing. In particular, with his celebrated 1932 textbook he put the then new science of quantum mechanics on firm mathematical ground, and with his 1952 design of the computer MANIAC he introduced the pioneering ideas of flexible memory and parallel processing.

In 1953 Technische Hochschule München awarded him a honorary doctorate.

Current Awardees
Previous Awardees

Current Awardees for Summer Semester 2018

Prof. Dr. Carol Alexander Prof. Dr. Carol Alexander, University of Sussex
John von Neumann Lecture Series: Financial Market Volatility
Prof. Dr. Guillaume Carlier Prof. Dr. Guillaume Carlier, Paris University
John von Neumann Lecture Series: Convex duality and applications in mass transport and calculus of variations
Prof. Dr. Marius Junge, University of Illinois Prof. Dr. Prof. Dr. Marius Junge, University of Illinois Pfeil
John von Neumann Lecture Series: t.b.a. Pfeil
Prof. Dr. Daniel Kressner Prof. Dr. Daniel Kressner, EPFL
John von Neumann Lecture Series: Low Rank Approximation
Prof. Dr. Filippo Santambrogio Prof. Dr. Filippo Santambrogio, Paris University
John von Neumann Lecture Series: First-order mean field games

Previous Awardees
Wintersemester Sommersemester
2017/18Sorted ascending 2018
Prof. Dr. Michael Griebel, Bonn University
Prof. Dr. Frithjof Lutscher, Ottawa University
Prof. Dr. Johanna G Neslehova, McGill University, Montreal
Prof. Dr. Giuseppe Savaré, Università di Pavia
2014/15 2015
2015/16 2016
2016/17 2017
All previous awardees
Prof. Dr. Andrea Braides, Università di Roma Tor Vergata Prof. Dr. Ernst Eberlein, Universität Freiburg
Prof. Dr. Francis Filbet, Universität Lyon Prof. Dr. Bruno Nachtergaele, University of California, Davis
Prof. Dr. Helmut Pottmann, TU Wien Prof. Dr. Gary Froyland, University of New South Wales
Prof. Dr. Igor V. Dolgachev, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor Prof. Dr. Nicola Fusco, Universität Napels
Prof. Dr. Maurice Rojas, Texas A&M University Prof. Dr. Christian Genest, McGill University, Montreal
Prof. Dr. Peter Markowich, University of Cambridge Prof. Dr. Matteo Novaga, Università di Pisa
Prof. Dr. Sergey Tikhomirov, University of Sankt Petersburg
Wintersemester Sommersemester


Scientific Director: Prof. Dr. Massimo Fornasier


TUM Mathematik Rutschen TUM Logo TUM Schriftzug Mathematik Logo Mathematik Schriftzug Rutsche

picture math department

Impressum  |  Datenschutzerklärung  |  AnregungenCopyright Technische Universität München